top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethewoollymammothco

My First Ever Blog, And its CROCHET!

Updated: Oct 17, 2018

A little bit about why and how I started to crochet.



It was because of a boy that I started to crochet.

I was 28 when I first picked up my first crochet hook. I still remember what it was that I bought. It was a 10mm plastic hook from our local craft supply store. The yarn was a thick soft dark blue acryllic. Gosh it was nice to touch. I was pregnant with my 3rd baby at the time. And my first BOY! As soon as I learned it was going to be a boy, I knew I had to make something for this special little angel, who was sucking the life right out of me, but we are family, so we share.

So it was because of this special little boy that I started to create.


Blogging from Your Published Site

To be fair, it wasn't ALL because of my son. It was mostly because I was so sick and so tired that I started to crochet. It kept my mind busy, but didn't take much physically.

A little help from YouTube and it wasn't long before I started to make a baby blanket.


The first thing I did was learn how to create a slip knot, then how to chain. I remember thinking to myself, this is so easy! Then the pattern called for a 'double crochet' stitch. I was lost. It seriously took me forever to work out what the lady on YouTube was trying to show me. But once I had the double crochet mastered, I then had to learn about keeping the right amount of stitches, and making the edges straight. My first blanket, although so soft and fun to create, ended up being a Trapezoid. So had to start again.

So after pulling it out several more times, I finally understood what I was doing.... until I started learning other types of stitches. Haha!

I was gifted a big box of crochet cotton, and thought I would attempt making something from a written pattern. I managed to create this collar, which was supposed to be for my dog, but ended up being for my mothers cat! He looked so dashing. It was at this point that I fell in love with creating things for other people.




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page